Kwara – The making of a new State

Download is available until [expire_date]
  • Version
  • Download 83
  • File Size 31.85 MB
  • File Count 1
  • Create Date February 6, 2022
  • Last Updated February 10, 2022

Kwara - The making of a new State

A brief history

Kwara State was created on 27th May 1967 during the Yakubu Gowon administration,

along with the first twelve states of the federation (the other States being Lagos,

Western, Bendel, North-Western State, North Central, Kano, North-Eastern, Benue

Plateau, East-Central, Rivers and South-Eastern). At its inception, it was made up of

the former Ilorin and Kabba provinces of the then Northern Region of Nigeria, and

was initially named Central-West State, before being renamed Kwara, the local name

for the River Niger, the most important watercourse in the state – and possibly in the

whole country.

We use cookies to give you the best experience.